Waterdrops

The other night I was on a plane flying from Newark, New Jersey to Houston, Texas. The flight had actually been delayed several hours due to thunderstorms over the East coast. Once we were finally airborne, I glanced outside the passenger window and became fixated on the red navigation lights flashing from the wing. I peered closer, seeing as how the light illuminated, just for a brief second, the thousands of descending raindrops falling towards the earth. “What a journey they must have, from 25,000 feet” I thought to myself. “A 10 minute free-fall.”

…eventually they must land.

Perhaps atop a small Redbud tree in someone’s backyard. That’s where I noticed these particular drops anyway.

Days after my trip home, I had wandered outside and into the backyard to play fetch with Bonnie when the bright little water beads caught my eye. “Fascinating” I thought. With their odd elasticity, the droplets clung to tiny buds, leaves, and pine needles for dear life, refusing an inevitable fate of being absorbed by the soggy ground below.

From 25,000 feet they had recently fallen, and it was here they had landed; suspended freely above the earth in a perfect balance between gravity and the upward force of a delicate leaf. It was in this brief moment of time I started taking pictures- before the wind or more rain could disturb their fragile resting place. Before the tug of the Earth, with it’s grip on heavy water molecule that began a plight high up in the clouds, could force the droplet to finally fall.

35 thoughts on “Waterdrops

      • Excepter un plan en contre jour tre8s re9ussie, cnloalt – je pre9sume – e0 la volonte9 d’apposer une esthe9tique quasi publicitaire, je ne vois pas trop l’inte9reat d’une tel exposition narcissique.En effet a aucun moment, on entre voie une volonte9 de coupler ces images e0 un quelconque fond.L’auteur diras peu eatre qu’il ne s’agit la que d’un petit clip sans pre9tention, re9alise9 entre copine, sur une musique bien aime9. Mais dans ce cas la mise en lumie8re (et en ligne) d’une telle lubie, entraine ne9cessairement un jugement ple9be9ien.Une certaine volonte9 de titille9 les Nabokoviens me semble ave9re9. D’autant que la musique choisie abonde dans ce sens.Je conclurais de manie8re trivial, en e9nume9rant ceci:A quoi bon e9laborer un sexy clip narcissique pour buzze9, surtout quand on pre9tend eatre esthe8te et qu’on ne maitrise meame pas les toutes bases des rudiments du montage et la simple mise au point?

  1. Yes, I totally agree and that’s the chcoie I do most of the time. For the long lasting elements (like floor, wall), I’d rather choose simple neutral colors, and for cheaper, easy to change stuffs (like cushions or rug), I choose colorful elements. That way, we won’t get bored of the decoration since we can always change the cheapest elements. Thanks for your comment !

  2. I’m really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my site not
    working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.

    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  3. It is approplriate time to make some plans forr the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest
    you some interesting things orr tips. Maybe you can write next articles refrerring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  4. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of
    times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is
    OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading
    instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your
    respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  5. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account
    your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on your feeds and even I success you get admission to consistently rapidly.

  6. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and noow
    each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.

    Is there any way yyou can remove people from that
    service? Appreciate it!

  7. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up
    losing months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  8. Hi I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while
    I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just
    like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.

  9. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested
    to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  10. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that
    I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and
    very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post,
    I will try to get the hang of it!

  11. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be
    actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get
    the hang of it!

  12. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?

    Cheers!

  13. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My website has a lot of completely unique
    content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks
    like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any
    solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

  14. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  15. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was
    hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.

  16. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a
    quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior
    to writing. I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Thank you!

  17. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely smartly
    written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  18. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I
    was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha
    plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform
    as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  19. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i am happy studying your article.
    But wanna remark on few general issues, The
    website style is ideal, the articles is in reality nice : D.
    Excellent activity, cheers

  20. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a way
    you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

  21. Everything composed was actually very reasonable. But, consider this,
    suppose you added a little content? I ain’t suggesting your
    information isn’t solid, however what if you added
    a title that makes people want more? I mean Waterdrops | Life in Kansas – Stories From Suburban America is a little vanilla.

    You could glance at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create
    news titles to grab people interested. You might add a video or a pic or two to get people interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it
    might make your blog a little bit more interesting.

  22. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my
    very own website now 😉

  23. The backend part of your company supports these profit centers.
    Today, lots of websites and blogs bring in unheard of income
    for their owners merely by promoting another’s company on their web pages.
    Daily, even hourly, businesses can see how many individuals clicked on their ads and the traffic that is being
    driven to their website.

Leave a comment

